Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
LPCM - better result than let the Dione decoding?
To be able to play DTS audio tracks I switched my X800M2 to PCM.
That works great for DTS.
But as I was worrying about it needs me to often to switch between PCM and Bitstream, because you cannot do it on the fly, you need to go to setup,  I tried out for Atmos soundtrack as well.
The X800M2 info shows me Dolby True HD and PCM 7.1 output. So not sure what is happening with the Atmos information. Dione is detecting LPCM properly.
Despite that I got the impression the overall surround result is better then letting the Dione decode.
I will not state it as a fact, just as an impression. Maybe you just like to try out.
I have no experience with the Dione or with Sony's X800M2 so I went digging through Devialet's and Sony's websites.

According to the FAQ on Devialet's Dione page: "Devialet Dione is not natively compatible with DTS: X content. Nevertheless, you will be able to fully enjoy DTS multichannel audio through SPACE listening modes with DTS:X to PCM conversion."

According to the specs for the X800M2 on Sony's website it can only output 7.1 channel PCM from both Dolby Atmos and DTS:x bitstream soundtracks. In other words, if you want to get the height channel info from Dolby or DTS soundtracks you have to output the bitstream from your X800M2 to a DTS:X and Dolby Atmos capable device. That's pretty standard for a disc player, I think most disc players do not provide PCM output for the .2 channels, they assume that if you want that output you're going to be using an AV receiver or processor which can do that job for you.