Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Losing bass when i crank up the volume
Hi, Guys!

I am a complete hifi noob, so then of course the right thing to to was to get a Devialet 220 Expert Pro. Even though i don´t know much about "the right" settings and stuff, I do like good sound. 

The thing is.. I am using the Devialet with a pair of Dali Opticon 6 floorstanding speakers, and I have a Kef KF92 subwoofer. When I start to crank up the volume quite a bit, the bass dies out. Does anyone have some wise words so i can get the heavy bass when I am home alone? 

Greetings from Alex The Hifi Noob
I have felt this happening before and I don't think it's the lack of bass (using 2 x 18" subs). It might just a saturation of the room with so much energy, there's just no distinction between notes anymore.

Do you still feel pressure on your ears?

The other reason could be that your speakers aren't up to the task and just get so bright, the increased treble masks the bass. I've never heard your speakers before, so I can't comment on their quality, but I wouldn't think that's it. That's a problem for lesser quality speakers.
                                                    Lifetime Roon, Mac mini, int. SSD, ext. HDD, tv as monitor, key board and track pad on bean bag as remote,Devialet 200, Od'A #097, Blue jeans speaker cable,                                     
                                                                                                                                                                            Dynaudio C1 MkII.
                                                                                                                                                                              Jim Smith's GBS.
                                                                                                                                                                        Northern NSW Australia.