Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Devialet pro 130: Kef ls50 + dxd12012 sub vs kef r900
Hello everyone,

I'm planning to upgrade my system at home with a Devialet Expert Pro 130. I have done a lot of research and have narrowed down my choice of speakers to 2 options:

1) Kef Ls50 (with or without SAM) + dxd12012 sub ($4500 total)
2) Kef r900 (with SAM for extra bass) ($5000)

This will be a hybrid stereo system in the living room to be used for both music and movies. For the home theatre side, I have no desire to use surround 5.1 or any of that nonsense. Only 2 speakers, or 2 speakers and a sub at most. I am pretty new to the high end audio game and have never owned $10K+ audio system like both of the above configurations would be. Both options are priced nearly the same so money is not really an issue in choosing one over the other.

As for why I've chosen the above options, I have read a ton of reviews. All 3 of these devices appear to be vastly superior to the other options within and many above their price ranges.

I'm trying to decide which of these 2 options to go for. I plan to try to setup a listen at a dealer if I can but I wanted to see what people think. If you had to pick 1, which of these 2 options would you choose? Do you see anything missing from my analysis below that should be considered? Would you change any of the speakers or the sub for something else in the same price range?

Obviously the goal is to produce the best quality sound possible for both music and movies. A few points I'm weighing in the decision:

1) I'm very interested in achieving full frequency range down into deep bass. I listen to all kinds of music, including classical, jazz, and bass thumping edm. Deep bass is also obviously important for home theater.