Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
How to play 192kh/z 24 bit music on Reactor’s
(07-Jun-2020, 01:39)Juanbk Wrote:
(05-Jun-2020, 17:28)Charcharius Wrote: I'm no expert, and I have a lot to learn!  I'm hesitant, as I'm sure I'll get corrected -- but here is what I think I know.  Please correct me!!!

I think of things this way.
Original recording > Final Source Material > Digital File for Distribution > Regional Transmission (streaming, NAS, local file) > Decoding (MQA only) > Rendering (MQA only) > Local transmission (Airplay, Bluetooth, UPnP) > Digi/Analog Conversion > Amplification > Wire connection to Speaker > Speaker Output.

No step in the process can add detail - they can limit it though.

So, how do we stream hi-res?
  1. Make sure the digital file is what you want. Tidal does FLAC for CD-quality (they call it "Hifi") and Master for MQA.  There is a lot of debate as to whether MQA is worth the hassle.  My take is that it is -- but I'm enjoying the tinkering involved either way!
  2. Transmission is the first issue.  While the Tidal app works great, it can be a dead end for wireless, as it doesn't have UPnP built in.  If you have a wired connection to your Reactors, it isn't a problem.  Importantly, neither AirPlay nor vanilla Bluetooth can handle anything better than FLAC (44 kHz).  Apt-X (HD Bluetooth) is an option if you're not on iOS, but the Reactors don't support Apt-X.
  3. MQA adds a wrinkle.  You need to decode (44 kHz -> 88 kHz or 48 kHz -> 96 kHz) and render (96 -> 192 kHz) - each step "unfolds" details in the music file.  Tidal, MConnect, and Audirvana can decode (typically done in software).  Rendering is typically done in hardware (like a MQA capable DAC) but I'm trying to confirm if apps like Audirvana can render as well.  The Dragonfly acts as your renderer. The Reactors CANNOT render MQA (they have an internal DAC though!)