Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
120 v 200
Hello all. I have been listening to a little  UnitiQute2 for the last 2 years while putting together (very patiently) my new system. I currently have a pair of ART Alnico8 speakers, and a Systemdek 3D Signature/Audio Origami 12" PU7 tone arm. I do not find the Naim route very appealing, and have been  keen to listen to a Devialet since reading about them sometime ago.

Due to my speakers being fairly efficient, and the room not large (and having limited funds) I am looking at a 120. From speaking to my local dealer this morning, he only has a 200 to demo, which is in my lounge playing through my speakers, as I type this message. 

From switch on, I wasn't impressed at all, and in my mind was working out other alternatives! Using a Mac Mini via optical, there was a nasty metallic echo in the high frequencies, the bass was wooden with limited depth. In the last hour I have changed the optical cable with a USB, and made small adjustments with the tone controls, yeah I know, sacre bleu!!

Well, if you haven't lost the will to live, and are still reading, things are now sounding fairly promising. The annoying metallic echo seems to have disappeared with the switch to USB, there is some liveliness back to the music, and the bass is tuneful. However, my question is this, is there a huge difference in sound quality between a 120 and 200? I don't wish to, and can't stretch to a 200 at present, and feel completely happy with an entry level 120. Could anyone with experience of both please give me some feedback. Many thanks.