Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
802 Diamond - D200 vs D400
Hi guys

I consider adding second Devialet 200 to my setup,
How you think D400 will impact the performance of mine 802 Diamond,
Is it worth the price of another D200?

By the way, my 802 diamonds are a little bright, did someone else who owns those noticed it or it’s a matter of brake in that will take time ,
mine are 4 month old with not much played hours around 400.

P.S
My dealer convinced me that ill better take another D200 master since when time will come it will be easier to sell than D200 companion .
Devialet 800| B&W 802 Diamond | JL 113 | Linn Akurate DS + Denon HEOS for Spotify | Stealth Reverie speaker cables| Audioprana AES/RCA | DH LABS PC 
Convince your dealer to try the companion at your home Wink
B&W 805d - Athom Zef Max - Devialet D200 - AIR Ethernet - Roon ROCK (NUC8i3BEH + LPSU100) - Qobuz

- FR -
Hi Stigmater

I have been using a D200 to drive 802Ds for nearly two years. These are, I think, from the series before your Diamonds but my experience may be of interest.

I have tried a D400 a couple of times, and the most recent experience has convinced me that the big B&Ws benefit from the extra power. While my D200 easily beats my previous amplifiers with the B&Ws, the D400 takes it much further - more detail and space, even better dynamics and tighter bass. I haven't upgraded to the D400 yet, but I think it is highly likely that I will as I consider the improvement worth the cost. As ledesc says above, your dealer should let you borrow a D200 companion to try.

I can't say that the D400 made any difference to the brightness of the treble. One thing to consider is how you have your speakers positioned. I have mine facing straight into the room, not facing in towards the listener. This gives me a vary natural sound with excellent imaging and no emphasis on the treble.
GorbeSE/SME 309/DV XX-2 & Roon Rock (NUC) > D400 > Wilson Benesch Vectors