Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Phantoms are complicated
Hi I'm very new to hifi streaming having been into traditional setup for many years.
Having just replaced my multi unit hifi for a pair of Golds, dialog and Trees I'm beginning to realise it's a completely different world.
In the past, i have been into trying various interconnects and power cables and they usually make a difference with some actually improving matters.
I was hoping to be able to tweak the Phantoms by using my Missing Link Orbit power cables at least.
Having had the system for two weeks and only really getting a few hours listening on Friday I found that the right Phantom kept dropping out.
My setup is power line connected from router in another room to power line connect in sitting room. Ethernet from power line to BT switch and then Ethernet into dialog and Naim unitiserve.
I started to look at the Phantom connections. I found the left was connected by PLC but the problematic right was wifi 2.4.
Numerous reboots could not get both to be connected the same.
I then tried to swap out the Missing Link power cables for the mains that came with the Trees. Still the left is PLC but now the right is wifi 5GHz. I have played music for a few hours since without any dropouts so fingers crossed.
My conclusion is that the Phantoms are susceptible to any connection that carries filtering.
All of my units are connected to a Russ Andrews purifier block so maybe that is also affecting connections?
What is the best way to get the Phantoms connected? plc, Ethernet or wifi or does it not really matter?
I am also confused as to how a speaker can connect by PLC when it is not directly connected into the power line unit. The left speaker is closest to the power line adapter so maybe that is why this one connects but the right Phantom is too far to receive the signal.
Any thoughts appreciated. Cheers

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Dear Steve,

Welcome to Devialetchat and as owner of Gold Phantoms!