Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Phantom Gold brightness
Hi all,

I would like to hear your experience with the Phantom Gold regarding the brightness. I have the feeling that they (2.0) sound a bit bright. With certain songs I feel some fatique in my ears. 

I'am coming from the Kef Ls50 wireless, and with the kefs I didn't have this "issue"

They are only a few days old, so might be because of that..
Hi Cyral,

I have been listening to the golds for about 5 months now. I have experienced instances when the speakers sound at times overly bombastic and at other times too shrill, if not down right harsh for my ears. I attribute this more to the recording of the piece or my setup versus the speakers themselves because despite the noted extremes, as a rule the speakers sound excellent and on certain pieces of music they sound outright magical; they disappear and present a realistic and visceral experience not replicated in any setup I owned previously. That said, it would bug me if my favorite tunes sounded disppointing on the system which has as its primary, if not sole purpose, to make my favorite music sound better. In the end, it is not about the system, but the music, or perhaps better said, one's perception of the music. JD
One thing that few understand and notice is time coherence. The LS50W you had are properly time aligned while the Phantoms are not. The active LS50 uses DSP cross over and time/phase correction. Phantoms use DSP for cross over duties too, but Devialet has unfortunately not used DSP power to time correct the speakers.
On very good speakers (Phantom Golds ARE good) one can hear when sound from the treble unit arrives before midrange and bass, like it does in most modern speakers. It can help to 'turn down' treble energy, but the problem remains.