Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
New Streaming System - Feedback needed
Hi all,

I'm completely new to streaming, coming from a conventional all-tube system. I have roughly 2000 CDs and I'm keen to stream in hi-def from Quboz and Tidal.  I like the idea of Roon and have a new D440 pro on order along with some Magico S1 MkIIs.  I currently use Virgin 200mbs Broadband with their latest Hub3 Modem/Router, which seems a bit weak-kneed in the wi-fi dept.
I am looking at the following. Can you tell me if this constitutes an optimum system for streaming (best SQ) and which of the 2 alternatives you'd go for or think would sound best.

1. Innuos Zenith MkII SE hooked up to my ISP Router via Ethernet cable and to the D440 by USB 2.0.  Roon core on the Zenith and Roon app on my IPad Pro, with a USB disc on the Zenith for file back-up.  Qubos and Tidal Hi-Fi for hi-def files and Zenith to rip my CDs to Flac or Wav.  Apple Airport Extreme for reliable Wi-Fi link between iPad and Router.

Alternatively:

2. Router----Ethernet-----Innuos Zenith MkII Std hooked up to DCS Bridge via USB.  DCS Bridge connected to Devialet via ?????what?
Roon core on the Zenith, Roon apps on the DCS and iPad.  Same strategy for internet streaming, back-up, wi-fi etc.

My new D440 may have the new streaming board, or it may not (D Support quote). The Zenith is anyway a great solution for ripping, storage and running the Roon core, so I don't see any conflict there.  What do you guys think?

Cheers
Steve
(19-Oct-2017, 10:58)Blackmorec Wrote: Hi all,

I'm completely new to streaming, coming from a conventional all-tube system. I have roughly 2000 CDs and I'm keen to stream in hi-def from Quboz and Tidal.  I like the idea of Roon and have a new D440 pro on order along with some Magico S1 MkIIs.  I currently use Virgin 200mbs Broadband with their latest Hub3 Modem/Router, which seems a bit weak-kneed in the wi-fi dept.