Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Please, share your Phantom stereo setup (including source)
(27-Dec-2017, 19:14)Dvlt PhD Wrote: Hi all,

I'm thinking of getting a Gold Phantom duo, but I'm afraid of getting not the wisest source for my digital library, since I'm not experienced.

Please, try to avoid posting Tidal, etc as a source. That's like going to the movies, and calling that setup yours, for the length of the movie. Tongue

I'm wondering if something like a Mac Mini, controlled by an ipad, is a wise setup that's possible and a lot of people would recommend.

My external HDD's are configured as NTFS, I think, so maybe Macs only accept FAT32? Then maybe something like a NUC, instead?

I don't know. Please, post also your connections for highest resolution possible for the Phantoms.

Thanks!

Hello

Some options below:

1- for tv and images sources... optical connection directly to the source to one of the phantom or to dialog...

2 - for music

If you’ve got your digital library on a network drive...
If it’s a Nas... you can connect the phantom to the network drive directly..

If you can buy the Auralic Aries mini  and add the HDd and use it as transportation and music server...

If you get Roon membership (roonlab.com).. you can use the cheap raspberry pi 3b and hifiberry sound card as a Roon end point to transport the music to your Phantoms.

Still with Roon.. use the Mac mini as Roon core and music server...

Lot if options available to enjoy your music..

Will be happy to help if necessary 

Good luck
 Angenet. 
  5 Silver Phantoms (2 stereo and 3 solo in 3 rooms). 4 Raspberry Pi 3b with Hifiberry digi + boards connected to four Phantoms. 1 Dialog with Airplay, Roon Lifetime Membership for perfect group play. Qobuz sublime, Tidal Hifi,  1 NAS Qnap tS-210 Pro. Location: West Yorkshire, UK.
My choices when listening (at least for the next few days until I decide what to keep...):