Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Phantom Gold Confusion & Expert Pro Question
Hi everyone,

I want to share the weirdest experience of my audio / high-end life with you. I've been living with a new set of phantom golds for the past 2 weeks. They are on the tree stands in perfect stereo triangle the way I would set up other systems. As I'm a sound engineer my room is treated to have the perfect dampening/reflection ratios with absorption/dispersion... in the strategically important spots.

For me the phantom gold experience is the single most disappointing experience I've ever had with an audio product. After having tried them also in other rooms, I have to say: how can anyone in this forum deem this a good high-end product? Anyone who ever heard a truly good system would be unable to make such judgements. What I hear is this:

The good:
  • They are spectacular for watching movies and playing videos games as the lowest octaves are truly rock solid and the amp power is there.
  • They are very good for all artificially created sounds (e.g. electronic music). (Oddly the transients are not so slow here).
  • Bass power. Bass impulse response.
  • Lack of ported speaker design artifacts.
The bad:
  • Acoustically recorded music: almost unbearable. All instruments sound as if somebody has poured liquid plastic over them. 
  • The decay of the instruments is not realistic. 
  • Transients: terribly rounded and slow. I can only assume that this is due to the mid-range driver and tweeter. The mid-range driver has far too little radiation area and cannot move enough air, especially when having to compete against these woofers. Same for the tweeter. In this designs config, they would have to be horn-loaded to become seriously alive. Both drivers seems to be slow and sluggish, they just have too much mass. This metal material of the mid-range driver seems to be a very poor choice.