Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Kef Reference 3 + Devialet 200
'Science' aside (I'm an engineer so forgive me - deal with the bugger all day and in no mood to take it home Wink ) I have a little practical experience after spending a few weekends at dealers and home comparing various setups this past month. In the process I heard the KEF Reference Blades, Reference 3, Reference 1 and their previous Reference 4.2 flagship with a variety of amps from Chord, Bryston and Devialet.

I agree with the OP wholeheartedly regarding the Devialet 120 + Reference 1. It's a fantastic sounding pairing BUT despite Devialet's claim of SAM taking the speaker down to 23Hz...that I'm not so sure...maybe on paper but it sure doesn't hit that bottom octave the way KEF’s bigger Reference speakers do.

I recently downsized from the KEF Reference 4.2 + Bryston 7B-ST monoblocks (800W) and whilst the 120 + Reference 1 is nice - with my old setup you could feel the bass in your chest - it literally shook the whole house and the sound carried all the way down to the road  - the new setup...wellll...it's lovely and all and whilst it shakes the room, I don’t think the neighbors are likely to be complaining!

The Devialet 120 is plenty enough power for the Reference 1. It might stretch a little with the Reference 3 at higher volumes in which case to the OP - go for a 200 + Reference 3 and I'm pretty sure you'll be happy.

That said - if money’s not a problem - the Blade and KEF's previous Reference flagship do have the edge on the 3 (haven’t heard the 5). If you're crazy for bass and presence - and don’t get me wrong the Reference 3 isn’t far off but you’re gonna really need to stump up the big bucks and get at least a Reference 5 + Devialet 400.