Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
D250 to D800 or upgrade to D250 pro CI?
For about the same amount of money i could do following:
  • Buy another D250, use it as slave and have a D800
  • Upgrade my current D250 to a D250 Pro CI

My current D250 is Roon Ready. I only use this source to listen. Considering I have 802 D4 speakers, what option would have the highest sonical improvement? The benefit of the upgrade would be also an extra 2 year warranty. My current listening levels are mainly between -30dB and -18dB. The sound is already amazing but I was wondering if i'm missing out something without selling a kidney.
Mac Mini M2 - Roon + HQplayer - Devialet 250 - B&W 802 D4 - WireWorld Starlight CAT8 - Van Damme Up-Lcofc - Orea Bronze
Pro CI.
Good Evening WillyW,

I'm not on this forum much anymore, as I don't have a Devialet amp now. Though it is absolutely true that I miss it. For the record, I went D120 to D220 pro > Po CI. It is also relevant that I have no experience with the 250 or the 800.

So it is a fair question; why am I here? Or, what can I contribute to your question? I just wanted to offer that in my experience, (and shared with another owner here) the Pro CI amps have a different sound character to the Expert series. Different than just power or 'separation'. In very brief summary, the Pro CI upgrades are 'bigger, more separated, more distinct, extended and detailed'. Ahem.

However, I think that because of the extra reach at both ends of the sonic scale, the mids, and vocals, do not 'come forward' in the same way as with the non Pro CI amps. In that, I'm saying it is different; I'm not judging 'better'. I was thrilled with the Pro CI upgrade. A few were not.

If you have not done so already, do a search for threads on the Pro CI upgrades, dating back to 2016. There are a number of threads that might help with this decision.

It absolutely does depend on your speakers and all the other gear that you use. Your ears, too. I suppose. Smile