Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
D400 Route or new speakers
In the next couple of months I could have the cash for the next upgrade to my system.

It is listed below. I am wondering where I will get the biggest improvement either getting the Companion and going to a 400, or spending a similar amount of cash on new speakers. There is also the possibility that a Companion could be bought second hand

My room is 14ft x 23ft, and the speakers can only be a foot from the back wall.

Any opinions welcome as always
Devialet 200 -- Roon Nucleus-- Sonus Faber Olympica 2 -- Tellurium Q Black Speaker Cables --
Chord Qutest -- Niimbus US5 Pro Headphone amp —HifiMan HEK, Abyss 1266TC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England
I'm no hardware expert, just a music lover so take my advice with a grain of salt...

Personally, I think you have a really well balanced system.

Since you can only have the speakers about one foot from the back wall, you'll want front ported or bottom ported or non-ported speakers, which you already have with the PMC Twenty.23 speakers (front port).

If you like your speakers, then there would really be no benefit to going to a 400 since your speakers would need or be able to handle the added power. People will argue that the "numbers" are better with a 400 vs. a 200 but this comes at a premium price, especially if your speakers can't handle it. The only reason to go to a 400 setup, would be if you needed additional inputs.

If you don't like your speakers, then that's a whole different story and you'll need to audition several models before you (and you) can decide.

I believe that you mentioned in a previous post that your system was on the bright side. Maybe invest in some treatments for your room and then use the balance to buy more music. Maybe even invest in an analog setup (turntable)!

Just my 2 cents... Good Luck!
Thanks for the reply. A turntable is a non starter I am afraid, as I am struggling to find space for new CDs let alone vinyl.