Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Beginner's questions: How to get the most from the Reactor 600
Hello !

I recently had my first Devialet (Reactor 600). Until now, I listened to Spotify on speakers of other brands, not Hi-Res compatible, with Spotify Connect.

I would now like to enjoy better sound quality (at least 16bits & 44.1khz, and if possible 24bits & 48khz)
Today I have a Spotify subscription, a Raspberry Pi (currently without DAC), an iPhone, a Macbook Pro, and a small library of FLAC files. I am thinking about subscribing to a Tidal subscription soon.

I know Spotify Connect is limited to 320kbps, so I would change for an other solution. Can you advise me, guide me, on a not too expensive solution, allowing to enjoy good quality music? Upnp ? Airplay ? Bluetooth ? Optical ? I'm a little lost with these possibilities  Big Grin
my advice is buy a second reactor. difference is huge
Hi and congrats on your Devialet Reactors!

The immidiate thing which i would consider is to spend some time adjusting the placement of your reactor set.
It may sound silly, but placement can have a huge impact on sound stage and the enjoyment of the reactors. This was a big factor in my listening room. If you go and take Tidal, note that using Airplay your audio will be downsampled. I would recommend to use UPNP or Toslink to other equipment. For regular audio i just stream directly via Spotify as this is easy.

You can always have a look in connecting streamers like the Node2i but for me that is not essential. If you want to go all out, then have a look at streamers with Room Correction such as Dirac. And recently i discovered the use of audio-re clockers, but i yet have to gain experience with this myself.

Cheers, Tony
Don't do anything until you've done what @edgecrush3r says as his first bit of advice. Nothing beats setup. Unless you actually only own one. Then go with @Johnnydev's advice.