Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Can't stream with AirPlay or AIR
I'm a new Devialet Expert 220 Pro owner. I can't stream from my phone. I have my TV STB on the optical input and that works. When I attempt to stream from Qobuz on iPhone using AirPlay (it does appear as an AirPlay device) the sound from optical input ceases but the system goes silent. I also tried with AIR on my Mac but it's the same, no sound. It appears the unit is changing "input" because to get back to optical I need to press "Source". But no sounds from the streaming "input". I'm using wired Ethernet, I am not used WiFi. 

Is there some setup config I need in the configurator to enable streaming over Ethernet?
I use wifi rather than ethernet but there was no explicit streaming setup beyond the normal wifi parameters. However I've used airplay and whilst it works fine I've had occasional dropouts too.

What I do know from this is that the automatic switch to the airplay input occurs very early in the sequence, before airplay has any idea whether it can actually play or not. In one case airplay had timed out on the phone, the Devialet switched but there was no sound until the phone was explicitly reconnected to the airplay endpoint.

I'm not saying this is related to the problem you have, but it does suggest that your network setup is possibly ok and also a few things to try. Airplay with a different (non-Devialet) endpoint is one. I'd also be tempted to try the Spotify endpoint on the Devialet. Spotify has questionable sound quality but in my experience the endpoint streaming bit is very reliable. It worked immediately on my Devialet (but then so did airplay...)

Whereas Air has had a rather patchy reliability history (and in my experience too) so it's not something I'd personally use as an indicative test.