Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Changing speaker cables as well?
Hi,
going for a D200, I think about adapting speaker cables as well.

Coming from Spectral amps I have Transparent speaker cables.

Questions:
- Did anyone change speaker cables as well or did you stick to the cables you had before?
- If you changed, which cables did you choose?

(My Speakers: Wilson Sophia 3, any recommendation?)
My recommendation would be to change one thing at a time to see (hear) if there really is any improvements (especially when borrowing equipment or cables).

When I got my Devialet 200, it replaced my pre-amp, power amp and DAC but everything else stayed the same, including all my cables and sources. So far, with the same cables and sources, my system is sounding great and proved to be a real improvement over what I had before. Then when I get the time (probably during the winter months), I may decide to experiment with some better cables.

I have no experience with Transparent cables and often wonder what those boxes incorporated into their cables really do but a co-worker of mine uses these and swears by them.
well, I tried out different speaker cables, and was able to optimize the "old" system to a perfect setup.
Changing equipment (DAC; Amps) might start the game all over again.

The d200 with my transparent cables sounds beautiful, but the "audiophilia nervosis" tick is starting all over again :-)
My last speaker cable in depth comparison was years ago, but the cables with filter boxes sounded better than the ones without. They were MIT, which I believe Transparent based their products on at the beginning.
Devialet Original d'Atelier 44 Core, Job Pre/225, Goldmund PH2, Goldmund Reference/T3f /Ortofon A90, Goldmund Mimesis 36+ & Chord Blu, iMac/Air, Lynx Theta, Tune Audio Anima, Goldmund Epilog 1&2, REL Studio. Dialog, Silver Phantoms, Branch stands, copper cables (mainly).
Oxfordshire