Poll: Which Devialet should I go for?
You do not have permission to vote in this poll.
D120
40.91%
9 40.91%
D200
59.09%
13 59.09%
Total 22 vote(s) 100%
* You voted for this item. [Show Results]

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
D120 or 200 in a 25sqm room?
Hi everyone, I've been lurking for awhile and enjoyed the various discussions.

I'm very new to the hifi hobby and planning to buy my first system in a few months.  It will be put up in an enclosed room of about 25sqm at a new house currently under construction. Basically, this room will be my personal den/library.

I've been auditioning various brands and I've been most impressed with the Devialet so far (D120 paired with Focal Aria) for its sound quality and its simplicity as a one-box solution.

At the moment, I'm considering the D120 to be my first stereo amp but the dealer is tempting me with the D200 (he said D200 is their most saleable model due to its upgrade potential).

For my 25sqm room, my main critical listening distance (from the couch) will be 3 meters from the speakers. Then my secondary listening distance (from my desk behind the couch) will be about 4 meters away.

I guess bookshelves might be more appropriate for my room and listening distance. Maybe something like the Focal Aria 906 or KEF LS50 for starters as both are SAM ready and inexpensive. Then eventually upgrade to more reference level speakers. I'll also be spending a bit on professional room treatment.

My questions is , is there any real benefit with the D200 over the D120 at least in my room setup? Or even the current speakers I mentioned? For the upgrade path, I don't see moving my listening area to a bigger room soon although I may upgrade to higher level speakers later.

I can afford either D120 or D200 but I hope to spend the extra 2000+ Euros only if it's really worth the upgrade and not only because the dealer advised it.  

Thanks for your feedback in advance!