Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Heresy, but here goes: Devialet to Lumin?
I've been using a Devialet 200 since 2014.  I bought it in France when I was living/working there and also purchased the Atohm GT1s.  Nice system, which I loved for many years.  I also have Roon and love what it provides, especially its tight integration with Devialet, which resuscitated the moribund Devialet AIR. I recently sold the GT1s and purchased a used pair of Vivid Oval 1.5s.  I really like these speakers... but my system may now be too resolving.  Note here that my cable loom is by Franck Tchang, who lives in Paris and produces the ASI LiveLine interconnects.  These cables are ruthlessly revealing, which can be good and bad.  Great music sounds great and poorly recorded music is horrible.  So here's my dilemma: I think my current system is so resolving that it sometimes just sounds too digital -- note here that I exclusively stream music from Tidal and my local library on an NAS. 

I've recently been reading a lot about Lumin products and their terrific streaming capability and analog-like sound, i.e., warm without being flabby.  So, I am thinking about ditching my Devialet 200 and going with with the M1 integrated (thus the heresy quotient in full bloom: moving from 200 watts to something quite less) or perhaps one of their upper-end streamers with appropriate amplification, perhaps also by Lumin.  I know I would also lose SAM capability for my Vivid speakers but I'm not sure how much I would miss that.  A few other advantages for Lumin are native MQA adoption (never will happen with Devialet, methinks) and Roon Ready.

Anyway, I'd appreciate hearing from those on this forum about either the their experience with the Lumin family or whether the Devialet upgrade would provide dividends to my system.  BTW, I guess I could change my cable loom to perhaps tame the system but that might be incremental vs holistic.