Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Newbie Q on Phantom Optical Input
Newbie here, first post, recently acquired stereo pair of Phantoms.  Would like to use optical from Oppo BD player to the Phantom. Some questions:
  • Is connecting to Dialogue still slower (24/96) than the Phantom (24/192)?
  • Are there still issues with crackling on the Dialogue?
  • Are there optical cables with smaller plugs for the Phantom (access is awkward and tight)
  • With input to 1 phantom, are there still delay issues with playing stereo between left and right?
  • Any difference between using plastic or glass cables?
  • Any cable recommendations...
Hmmm... Looks like not many people use optical?   Confused Sad
(25-Feb-2019, 14:19)Snoopy8 Wrote: Hmmm... Looks like not many people use optical?   Confused Sad

I believe quite a few Phantom owners connect optical direct to a Phantom in a stereo pair, but you pose many questions. Many will skip answering because of that...

• Is connecting to Dialogue still slower (24/96) than the Phantom (24/192)?
  • No, both supports 192kHz
  • Are there still issues with crackling on the Dialogue?
  • Yes
  • Are there optical cables with smaller plugs for the Phantom (access is awkward and tight)
  • See below
  • With input to 1 phantom, are there still delay issues with playing stereo between left and right?
  • No, no issues between L and R
  • Any difference between using plastic or glass cables?
  • See below
  • Any cable recommendations...

If you go to Blue Jeans Cable https://www.bluejeanscable.com/store/dig.../index.htm you'll find info on optical cables. If you specify a small connector for use with Phantom I'm sure they know what to do.
Devialetless!
Roon, ROCK/Audiolense XO/Music on NAS/EtherRegen/RoPieee/USPCB/ISORegen/USPCB/Sound Devices USBPre2/Tannoy GOLD 8
250 Pro CI, MicroRendu(1.4), Mutec MC-3+USB
(25-Feb-2019, 16:11)ogs Wrote: [*]Is connecting to Dialogue still slower (24/96) than the Phantom (24/192)?