Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Phantoms and Roon
Any suggestion of hardware to use Roon with my phantoms?
Roon Nucleus, NUC or somerhing else?

Skickat från min iPad med Tapatalk
(23-Dec-2019, 18:47)Nordic Wrote: Any suggestion of hardware to use Roon with my phantoms?

Hi @Nordic

Both are good options, to which I would add a Small Green Computer sonicTransporter, similar to a Nucleus (audio-optimised single-purpose hardware/software) but a bit cheaper.  It depends on your priorities (sound quality/convenience/value).  I have been running a sonicTransporter for several years and am very happy.

You are no doubt aware that you can't currently stream hi res material from Roon to Phantoms, something that Devialet will hopefully address sometime next year.  However std res works fine over Airplay, and hi res works fine using other streamers such as Audirvana.
I have a Raspberry Pi running RoonBridge with a Hifiberry Digi+ board running toslink to my Phantoms.    

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Current: Phantom Silvers, Oppo 105D (Toslink), Raspberry Pi + Digi+, ROON
Pre-Phantom: PenAudio Rebel2, Nuforce MCH-2C5, Oppo 105D (Analog)
(23-Dec-2019, 18:47)Nordic Wrote: Any suggestion of hardware to use Roon with my phantoms?

Bluesound Node 2i is ideally integrated with ROON (RAAT, Tidal, MQA) and works perfectly (TOS-Link) with your Phantom(s)
4 x Gold Phantom via LAN, 2 x Silver Phantom via LAN, Dialog, Remote, Tidal HiFi (Masters/MQA), Bluesound node II (TOS-link to Dialog, MQA), Roon (Mac)
I’m using the same setup as Trashken: hifiberry digi+ raspberry pi is the endpoint. With DOS2 I’ve been able to leverage the toslink input on my Dialog again (it was sporadic on DOS1) which means I can have the endpoint in another room, keeping the set up at the phantom simple (they are just plugged into power: no other cables) Roon core is a NUC running ROCK in another room.