Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Setting up 120 Expert from scratch
Some background to my dilemma:

I've been using my Devialet Expert 120 for about 6 months now. It's been running Firmware 10.1.0 with SAM at 40% into Kef LS50 Metas and a KC62 subwoofer. Firmware 10.1.1 as it has the SAM for the Metas.

I listen mostly to jazz, and over some time I've grown to find the midrange suppressed somewhat, which has the effect of causing vocals to be softer and recessed. Instrumental does not suffer this. Consequently, I chose to switch off SAM altogether (believing that too much bass was the offending issue). I also reasoned that I may as well return to Firmware 7.1.3, which has a more musical quality (but which I had to forgo as SAM was not available for the Metas). This is where my problem began.

Basically, I forgot how to set up the 120 Expert! 

I inserted a card with 7.1.3 into the 120 and switched on. It loaded .. but now the turntable was not coming up on the controls. I reinserted the 10.1.0 card, and all was back as before ... well, the turntable was back. Then I recalled needing to install the card by turning off all power, inserting the card, and holding down the power button for 4 seconds. I did this with the 7.1.3 card, and the 120 reconfigured itself. Checking with the screen, 7.1.3 is indeed installed. But no turntable! So I switched off, slipped in the 10.1.0 card, and switched on again. The firmware remained at 7.1.3 but the turntable had returned. 

So all is working as it should. The sound is much improved over before. Female voices are back in focus. The turntable is playing - which is notable as the cartridge is a Supex 900 mkIV and has an output of only 0.2 volts (so loading is quite specific). 

I am trying to understand what I have done, or what I need to redo to ensure it is correctly set up (or what to do if I wish to change the firmware).