Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Sonos Connect - Return on experience
Hi,

I want to replace Spark, I want to use to Phantoms as dumb speakers.

Can someone give me an in depth return on experience with Sonos Connect ? Will you recommend it ?

Thanks,
Hi Mak,

I have a Sonos Connect and Amp. My opinion in brief:

It works very well within its limits. Those limits are CD quality streaming, rather than higher resolution streaming. This does not matter to me, although i understand that other streamers, such as an Aurender, will give a better-sounding CD quality stream. That is what I have been told, though I have no direct experience of a comparison.

The great advantage to a Sonos is that it allows you to access a wide range of streaming services. Many are limited to Tidal, and a few others also have Spotify. With the Sonos, you can get Deezer and Deezer Elite (which we use for about 90% of our listening - FLAC / lossless quality) as well as Tidal, Spotify and many other services. Another source we use a great deal is TuneIn Radio; that is a great service.

The serious drawback to Sonus, in my opinion, is that the interface is not as good as it should be. Within the Sonos app itself, there are some frustrating navigation limits. For example, there is often no way to 'go back' to your current listening 'location'. By this, I mean that if you are listening to a selection, and then search for something else, there is no going back to your current selection and keeping the full hierarchical path. Hard to explain, but it is frustrating.