Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
roon basic setup recommendation.
Hi ,
im new to roon and wanted to knew whats the best way to connect it to my stereo golds dos2 ?
1. id like to buy a hardware to install roon (not an expensive one maybe a passive mini pc or similar and spdif to one of the golds).
2. is there ant android remote to the roon ? basic function etc...?

what r your recommendation?

10x
Elad
(05-Dec-2019, 18:08)eladeb Wrote: Hi ,
im new to roon and wanted to knew whats the best way to connect it to my stereo golds dos2 ?
1. id like to buy a hardware to install roon (not an expensive one maybe a passive mini pc or similar and spdif to one of the golds).

10x
Elad

I have been running roon for about a year. It servers music to my Pro 140 so im not sure my setup is pertinent to your with phantoms. With that said Roon has been fantastic. My setup is as follows;
1. Roon ROCK running on a NUC 8i3 with 8GB of ram. The Rock software itself sits on 128 GB RAM card. I also have 500 GB SSD in the second slot for music. My music however sits on a seprate NAS but you can just as easy use the second slot in the NUC for music. Total cost is +-$500
2. Music is spooled over my home wireless network. Pro is hard wired to a wifi spot although i dont think this is necessary
3. Control is through dedicated iPad running roon remote. I mostly listen to Tidal HiRez but have around 10K FLAC music files on the NAC.
If you are interested in this setup i can provide you with more specifics
(05-Dec-2019, 18:08)eladeb Wrote: Hi ,

10x
Elad

Hi @eladeb

In the subject you say "basic" setup recommendation but then you say "best" way to connect.  Can you elaborate on your use case and priorities a bit more??
- Any idea of budget?
- Easy-to-use commercial products only or not too scared of putting something together yourself?
- Which streaming service(s) are you intending to use at which resolution(s)?
- Is hi res important to you?