Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Best Cartridge for VPI Prime Turntable?
I am strongly considering getting a VPI Prime turntable and would appreciate any advice concerning a cartridge to match my Expert 200. The price range is $1500 - $3000 USD.

Thanks in advance.

Bob Willis
Synology 713+ -> Aurender N10 -> D 200 -> Legacy Audio Focus SE speakers. ClearAudio Emotion TT. Synergistic Atmosphere Level 3 UEF Speaker and Galileo (USB) Interconnects and Synergistic PowerCell UEF S - Virginia U. S. A.
Dynavector XX2 MK II for 1550 Euro - Great value and a Master piece for the VPI tonearm

Best regards

Gesendet von iPad mit Tapatalk
So first of all bear in mind that the only MC cartridge I have used with my VPI is an Ortofon Cadenza Black, so no basis for comparison. And I am by no means an expert on cartridges. Far from it.

Second I used this with first a Devialet 440 and now the 440 Pro CI. So not quite the same setup as yours.

I use this to play Rock, Jazz, Reggae, electronic and other styles of music and am very pleased with it. YMMV.

I don't suppose you are fortunate enough to have a dealer who sells both Devialet and VPI?
Roon ROCK on Intel NUC6i5SYH/Ethernet | VPI Avenger | Devialet 440 Pro CI | Vivid Audio Giya G3 | Auralic Aires Mini | Synology 1812+ NAS
SXSW, US
I've used both the Ortofon Cadenza Black and the Dynavector DRT XV-1s and am more than satisfied with their performance - DRT just slightly out shining the Black on immediacy, clarity and depth.  Channel separation from both is excellence and either will compliment your Prime.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Roon for life, VPI Aries 3D le/Dynavector XV-1s, 1000 Pro, KEF Blade Two
Okanagan, British Columbia
+1 for the DV XX2mkII. I use it myself too.

Be aware that your Expert (Pro) will add a considerable amount of hiss to the signal of low output MC cartridges.