Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Devialet 200 and Bose 901 VI
Hi,

I'm very new to this audio world and bought the bose speakers long time ago as a recommendation from the sales guy. I discovered the Devialet 200 and so far only read good feedback on it.

I understand that SAM doesnt support the Boses yet. Do you think it's a good combination or would I be better off with a different speaker system.

Thanks
Markus
(07-Feb-2015, 10:43)linmar Wrote: Hi,

I'm very new to this audio world and bought the bose speakers long time ago as a recommendation from the sales guy. I discovered the Devialet 200 and so far only read good feedback on it.

I understand that SAM doesnt support the Boses yet. Do you think it's a good combination or would I be better off with a different speaker system.

Thanks
Markus

Hi Markus

this is actually a very interesting combination. Even if the 901 has a fairly bad reputation in audiophile circles the speaker is quite good. This review confirms this: http://www.tonepublications.com/review/w...-bose-901/

The 901 depends on the equalizer to correct it's frequency response. To use the speakers with the Bose equalizer you would have to connect to the analog line input of the D200. Not quite ideal as you would then not get the correct sound when using any of the other inputs on the 200.

If you really like how the 901 presents music in your listening environment I would contact Devialet to ask if they could replicate the amplitude correction in the DSP of the amp. Devialet has previously been very helpful in cases like this. As the correction is amplitude only it should be relatively easy for Devialet to implement. With the equalizing performed by the D200 DSP you would get even better sound quality than with the Bose EQ box. I would not worry about SAM in this context as the EQ curve from Bose is optimized to the speaker already.
Devialetless!