Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Big Daves System
A relatively simple setup. 

Source is an HP Laptop running Windows 10. I use iTunes with the files on as ALAC. 
The Laptop doesn't get used for anything other than playing music.
It's set to output at 16bit 44Khz. The music is all on an external 500Gb 2.5" hdd. 

Control is done through a Musical Fidelity M1SDAC digital preamp/asynchronous DAC which upsamples to 24bit 192Khz. Laptop to DAC is from the USB output to a USB input on the DAC. 
Output from the DAC is Toslink optical into a Silver Phantom. 

All controlled from an iPad using the Remote App. And volume is done by a Devialet remote control. 
Spark doesn't get used at all. 

Any suggestions for improvements is greatly appreciated like maybe changing the output on iTunes for example or adding something in the chain. 

I'm kinda new to all this digital stuff.  Rolleyes
Synology DS215 NAS (2x WD RED 1Tb) > Virgin Superhub 3 > HP Pavilion X360 laptop > Phantom Reactor 600 > JRiver MC25 > JRemote > A&K AK70mkii DAP > Supra Cat8 Ethernet cable > Sony WH-1000XM4 > jar of cream v2
Out of interest why use an external DAC with the Phantom Silvertouran? It seems like an unnecessary extra D>D conversion and breaks the bit-perfect chain (unless you particularly like its upsampling)

>>> 1st Place Award: Devialet, last decades most disappointing technology purchase.  <<<

I use the DAC since it also has analogue inputs and it outputs them all to optical. I just find it very flexible and it also has a decent headphone section built in. Do you reckon the sound quality would be better without the DAC in the chain then? Would a patch cable from the laptop straight into the Phantom work or do i still need the router in the chain?
Synology DS215 NAS (2x WD RED 1Tb) > Virgin Superhub 3 > HP Pavilion X360 laptop > Phantom Reactor 600 > JRiver MC25 > JRemote > A&K AK70mkii DAP > Supra Cat8 Ethernet cable > Sony WH-1000XM4 > jar of cream v2